About Indian Astrology

Indian Astrology charts a Map of Your Future. There are many different names for this branch of Astrology. The other two most often used are Hindu or Vedic Astrology. 

Western astrology creates astrological forecasts based on the sun's position relating to the earth. It is based on the four seasons and called tropical. The first house, Aries, begins when the sun crosses the equator going north. When it crosses in the fall, going south, it heralds the start of the sign Libra. The uppermost point is summer and the lowest point is winter.

India's Vedic astrology differs greatly in that they use the actual position of the stars and constellations in the sky. Rather than creating a circular or round chart, as in the western astrology world, the Indian astrology chart is a belt or sometimes described as a square. It has a starting point, which is often opposite the double or binary star Spica. That's where Aries starts and every 30 degrees another house begins. That way of charting uses a sidereal zodiac. Just like Western astrology there are 12 houses, but with each one called a rasi, which is Sanskrit for part.

Indian Astrology

The problem with the use of the Tropical zodiac in Western astrology is that there's a shift in the ecliptic longitude. What that means is that the equator shifts, which is know as the “precession of the equinoxes.” That shift is minor each year, but over time has made a huge difference in the two ways of casting horoscopes in the two types of astrology. In about 285 AD, both Western and India's astrologists were in alignment, but with that minute shift that creates a difference of one degree every 72 years, the difference is now 23 degrees, with the Indian astrology chart being 23 degrees earlier than those of the Western zodiac charts. Because of the differences in the charting of the two, it can lead to an entirely different sign. You might be a Taurus in western astrology but find you're actually an Aries in the Vedic or Indian system.

Vedic astrology uses not just your date of birth, but also your time and place of birth, just as Western astrology does, but can pinpoint the actual events more closely. The planets used in casting the charts are also different as are the planetary periods. It also places less importance on sun signs. Even though there are several systems of Indian or Hindu astrology, they all use dashas, or planetary periods in forecasting. These dashas have an influence on an individuals life and vary from six to twenty years.

Most people who use Indian or Vedic astrology do not use Neptune, Uranus and Pluto in the charts. These planets are considered to be at a different plane. The orbital periods are also too large, ranging from 160 to 240 years. With that length of time, it's very difficult to have an effect on the far shorter human life.

Vedic astrology tends to be more detailed. It provides precise dates when good and bad events begin or the difficult times before attaining great accomplishments or prosperity. It functions on the rule of Karma and is based on the philosophy that everything in life is linked. Every action has a consequence or an equal or opposite reaction. Karma determines the person's future and the astrology chart creates a cosmic map of their future. The function of the astrologer is to read and interpret the map, coordinating it a time frame.

WIKI - Hindu Astrology

Indian Astrology Readings

A host of Vedic Astrology Experts await your questions here